Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Look What I Found On Ebay
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
Tigress
This is a brand new program is in the downline builder and all. Now it is up for auction.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...gory=46689&rd=1

I do not appreciate this at all. My personal information going to the highest bidder. Something is wrong here with this picture, this is obvious that this particular person had these intentions from the beginning to do just this. Build the member base and then auction it off.

So wrong, well I am one less member to them, and am so glad that I came across this. Also was really nice of the Webmaster to notify the members that they were putting up the site for auction as well. Nothing was said, emailed or were we notified.

Will some program owners never learn That we members do not like our information just to trade hands with every Jack, Joe, Smoe out there., just so they can make the fast buck here. am.gif
onlooker
Hmmm...interesting...I know who "korndragon" is...LOL

Anyone have any objections if "I" buy this site? How many members are currently in it? Does it set itself apart from other 'similar' sites?

Those of you that know me, I hope can trust me ac.gif

Rod
deathstalker
file a complaint with ebay and they will stop them teach them a lesson to boot
onlooker
Is selling a site 'illegal' like that at Ebay?

I can understand your concerns about being unethical or immoral but I am not sure it is 'illegal'...

Can anyone elaborate?

Rod
Zombie Master
QUOTE (ShareAdSpace_Rod @ Sep 8 2003, 02:33 PM)
Is selling a site 'illegal' like that at Ebay?

I can understand your concerns about being unethical or immoral but I am not sure it is 'illegal'...

Can anyone elaborate?

Rod

It is against their terms to be selling any sort of mailing list and such on the ebay site.

You do have the right to report it.


I'm getting the link to the page now.


Taken from here:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/maillists.html

QUOTE
eBay does not permit the sale of bulk email or mailing lists that contain names, addresses, phone numbers, or other personal identifying information. Any tools or software designed predominantly to send unsolicited commercial email (UCE or "spam") will not be permitted.

Additionally, eBay does not permit the sale of items containing the social security number of any living person and does not allow listings that show personal information of third parties such as addresses and telephone numbers. Items that contain social security numbers of deceased persons, such as genealogy related software or antique social security cards, may be listed. Listings of items that include a social security number, such as old social security cards or old records, must specifically state that the social security numbers do not belong to any living person.
Tigress
Thank You Jaikula I have taken care of the filing of the complaint. This is just so wrong, and is happening way to much here lately.
ruhappytoseeme
ak.gif why do they have a 10.00 shipping fee?????
SelfSupportiveSolutions
I dunno about illegality (or even immorality) of the sale, but fraud is illegal.
QUOTE
We are currently selling the newly-released www.smoothlinks.com WITH NO RESERVE! A similar site we had made over $3000 in its first two months! This site has a custom made script which means your site will not operate the same as every other site out there.


A.) Custom made scripts sounds like total BS (customised is very different to custom-made, in my view).
B.) What similar site could have made $3000 in it's first 2 months?

The sites in the portfolio at the developers site don't make me very confident. aj.gif
SelfSupportiveSolutions
I just posted a warning in the downline builder thread for this program. av.gif
Tigress
VerDogs also up for Auction:

Here is another WM doing the same thing. At least they had the decency to forwarn the members, so they can opt out if they wish prior to final sale of the site. the discussion of that is in the GetPaidIssues here in the forum.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...gory=46689&rd=1
dzschau
Ok. I dont think its right to sell a "working" ptr program on ebay that already has members.

As one person has already found its illegal to sell such a site.

NOW if someone bought a domain. Put the scripts on and set the site up. But DID NOT LAUNCH yet (meaning NO MEMBERS) in the database. Then I dont see anything wrong with that, as that would just be another domain being sold.
Tigress
I agree 100%


with you dzschau let the person who owns it sell it before the member base is intact, but that is not the case with these 2 auctions going on right now.


The VerDogs one has over 1100 members. That is 1100 peoples personal information pretty much going to the highest bidder.
NutCase
LOL!

Just send a spam complaint when the new owner starts sending out e-mail. The spam is based on the contract being broken with the previous owner and there not being an agreed to contract with the new owner.

What really should be done is dump the current database and make all payouts before the sale is final.

Take Care,
Phil
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.