Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is this for real??????
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
ruhappytoseeme
ok this probably doesnt have to do with gptr but I am freakin out here! I got this email but the link doesnt work (wich makes me think it is a scam, I HOPE!) heres the email:


From: "Sichao Thomasa" <Traci_Fung@> | This is spam | Add to Address Book
To: ruhappytoseeme@
Subject: BestBuy Order #1095619. Fraud Alert.
Date: Thu, 19 Jun 2003 04:01:28 -0400 (EST)




Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ORDER# 1095619 - STATUS: SUSPENDED
ITEMS PURCHASED
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Item No: 73890
CDA-9815 In-Dash CD Player/Ai-Changer Controller
Price: $387.65 Qty: 2 Total: $775.3
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The order listed above has not yet been processed.
The reason for the delay in processing your order is:

- UNVERIFIED SHIPPING ADDRESS

- Information provided:
Shipping
41 WINHAM ST
Staten Island, NY 10306
United States
phone# 206-337-9843

In our effort to deter fraudulent transactions, we need your help in providing us with the correct information. Your prompt response is needed to avoid any unauthorized charges to your credit card.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html


the thing that scares me is I was at best buys surfing and looking at cameras, but the link doesnt work. anyone have any ideas? thanks

ps, I do NOT live in new york and that isnt my phone number!!!!!!!! so that order is NOT from me, but it could just be made up?
lexiekinz
Call your cc comp and bestbuy .
DarkElf
My guess would be that someone has your credit card, but not your address and is trying to get it........I would call best Buy. The number should be on their site.
ruhappytoseeme
lol that sounds easy cept they didnt say wich credit card. I tried replying to the email , it was not a real adress! so it must be a scam email, jeez nothing like scaring the heck out of someone!
SOS
I was just looking on the Best Buy website and I dont see any in dash cd players with that description or any at that price. But If I were you I would call Best Buy Customer Care at 1-888-BESTBUY (1-888-237-8289).
freeandeasy
This is one of the newest Internet scams- it was explained last night on TV.
DON'T FALL FOR IT!
mmamamel
Just an FYI...that isn't a staten Island phone number..there area code is wrong.
ruhappytoseeme
QUOTE (SOS @ Jun 20 2003, 01:34 AM)
I was just looking on the Best Buy website and I dont see any in dash cd players with that description or any at that price. But If I were you I would call Best Buy Customer Care at 1-888-BESTBUY (1-888-237-8289).

thanks it is a automated number, I cant find a real p[erson but I really feel it was a scam cause the email adress bounced and there was no credit card number in the email not even a visa or mastercard

ohh got a person brb
omg LOl it is a fraud they said it is a fruad and they are investigating it, so that is why the page dont load, I didnt gewt a person but it said it was giving me one and then this recoring came on and said that there is a email going around, yada yada yada, so its a scam. thanks everyone for your help aa.gif

anyone who gets this email just delete it its a scam aa.gif
ruhappytoseeme
QUOTE (freeandeasy @ Jun 20 2003, 01:36 AM)
This is one of the newest Internet scams- it was explained last night on TV.
DON'T FALL FOR IT!

ad.gif I musta had the wrong chanel on aa.gif coulda saved me a lot of time lol thanks aa.gif
davidbugs
Becareful It is Indetify Scam. Someone trying getting your credit cards
chris35
There was something liek this on the breakfast shows this morning in the UK dont know what site it was but it was a similar situation.

I would have a good guess and say it was a 100% scam

nothing to worry about

Thanx chriscool
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.