Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: E-Gold fraud?
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
jtaylor75
I apologize if this has been posted elsewhere or this is the wrong place for this. I just received the following e-mail message, allegedly from e-gold, informing me of a reversal in my account balance due to a fraudulent transaction. What's the problem, you ask? The problem is I don't have an e-gold account. I never have and never will. Here's the message:

Dear e-gold user,
It has come to our attention that you may be the recipient of potentially fraudulent funds. We have initiated an investigation into this event. In the meantime, we have placed a pending reversal on the funds in question until the investigation is complete. This pending reversal will show as a deduction in your available balance. In the meantime, you are free to continue transacting using your E-gold account.

Transaction Date: May 28, 2003 11:39:34
Transaction Amount: $996.00 worth of gold

To check the transaction in question and reactivate the account please go to:

h**ps://www.e-gold.com/acct/login.html

And log in into your e-gold account.

E-gold Support Team.


Accounts not verified till May 28, 2003 would be blocked without further notice due to
indentification failure and abuse.

***Please Do Not Reply To This E-Mail As You Will Not Receive A Response***


Thank you
Accounts Management

As outlined in our User Agreement, e-gold will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions.

Copyright 2003 e-gold Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
e-gold and the e-gold logo are trademarks of e-gold Ltd.

Copyright ?\ 1995-2003 e-gold Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the e-gold User Agreement and Privacy Policy.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LMAO.....what is this? Just wanted to alert everyone in case this is a scam.
Zombie Master
It is a scam, reported it here:

http://www.getpaidforum.com/forums/index.p...573&f=2&t=53807

They sent it to an email addy with me that doesnt even have anything to do with my egold accounts.
NutCase
I got the same E-mail as well.

I opened up the source code and found the following link:
CODE
<a href="http://216.118.81.79/acct/login.html">https://www.e-gold.com/acct/login.html</a>


I then did a quick lookup of 216.118.81.79 and got the following:
OrgName: Net Access Corporation
OrgID: NAC
Address: 1719 STE RT 10E
Address: Suite 111
City: Parsippany
StateProv: NJ
PostalCode: 07054
Country: US

NetRange: 216.118.64.0 - 216.118.127.255
CIDR: 216.118.64.0/18
NetName: NAC-NETBLK04
NetHandle: NET-216-118-64-0-1
Parent: NET-216-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.NAC.NET
NameServer: NS2.NAC.NET
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
Comment:
Comment: * Reassignment information for this network is available
Comment: * available at whois.nac.net 43
RegDate: 2001-05-16
Updated: 2001-08-22

TechHandle: ZN77-ARIN
TechName: Net Access Corporation
TechPhone: +1-800-638-6336
TechEmail: legal@nac.net

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE156-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse Department
OrgAbusePhone: +1-800-638-6336
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@nac.net

OrgNOCHandle: NOC270-ARIN
OrgNOCName: Network Operations Center
OrgNOCPhone: +1-973-590-5050
OrgNOCEmail: network@nac.net

OrgTechHandle: ZN77-ARIN
OrgTechName: Net Access Corporation
OrgTechPhone: +1-800-638-6336
OrgTechEmail: legal@nac.net

OrgTechHandle: AR97-ARIN
OrgTechName: Rubenstein, Alex
OrgTechPhone: +1-973-590-5101
OrgTechEmail: alex@nac.net

This is who you should file a complaint with, I did! let them know a user of theirs is trying to run a ripoff scheme. The contact you should use is:
Phione: +1-800-638-6336
E-mail: abuse@nac.net

If you use the e-mail option make sure you send them the whole e-mail including headers.

Phil
indreams
QUOTE (NutCase @ May 29 2003, 10:23 PM)
This is who you should file a complaint with, I did! let them know a user of theirs is trying to run a ripoff scheme.

if i were you guys, i'd be reporting every one of these emails, at least to e-gold.
Easy_Money
Hello,

I received the exact same email today. It is a scam. I contacted e-gold

about an email very similar to this one in the past. They simply told me it was

a scam, and they knew about it. They said there is very little they could do

about it. They seemed rather disinterested in it. They also said, they would

never send an email of the sort. They said never login via these emails. If

you are concerned go to the site. Do not use the link in the email. If you did

go to the site via the email, and login, change your password immediately.

Make it very different than your current password.

Hope this helps!
Jaszzx
Hi,

I too got the same email, I reported to both E-Gold and Nac.

My account seems to be ok so I think, nothing to worry about.

Jaszzx
savagegoose
if that who is info is correct then someone is in trouble, lets all report it to the feds if thats so .

just gimme the word and i'll forward any theifs info to the feds no problemo.
Zombie Master
QUOTE (savagegoose @ May 30 2003, 07:16 PM)
if that who is info is correct then someone is in trouble, lets all report it to the feds if thats so .

just gimme the word and i'll forward any theifs info to the feds no problemo.

That whois information is unfortuantly the host that was hosting the site. They acted quickly because between the 4 hours in between when I got it, and me reporting it, the site was closed. Even on spamcop.net it was said they had taken action against the offending page, which was done. Shame they hadnt left it longer, I would have been checking the egold details and such.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.