Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Virus or Hoax?
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
staley
I just got this wonderful email:

QUOTE
Subject:  ***URGENT ***URGENT ****URGENT 

Content-Transfer-Encoding:  7bit
To:  info@totallyduh.com
From:  info@evocash.com
X-Priority:  3


Received:  from eyesvr001.eye.es (ediciondsl.easynet.es [213.139.10.44])by imta17.mta.everyone.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 359B74BD11for <info@totallyduh.com>; Fri, 23 May 2003 07:56:39 -0700 (PDT)

from smtp0562.mail.yahoo.com ([200.158.192.94]) by eyesvr001.eye.es with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.5329); Fri, 23 May 2003 16:56:35 +0200
 
X-Originalarrivaltime:  23 May 2003 14:56:36.0981 (UTC) FILETIME=[82539A50:01C3213B]

Content-Type:  text/html; charset=us-ascii
 
Mime-Version:  1.0 

Date:  Fri, 23 May 2003 14:45:15 GMT 

Message-Id:  <EYESVR001j1d4vJFRFW00000bd5@eyesvr001.eye.es> 

Attachments
Name Type Save View
Message  text/html Save   

"GOT YOU"

If you were dumb enough to open this email then you will find a WORM has executed itself through your mailbox
and by the time you read this into your hard-drive. This is PAYBACK for the Virus you disguised in the email you sent
to us recently which destroyed our hard-drive and back-up system. This costs us thousands of dollars and we lost a lot
of irreplaceable files on our system.

Now it's your turn to have your computer infected. This WORM it is undetectable by AntiVirus software and it will  drive your computer crazy because it's always hiding and causing havoc in your system. Using your computer recovery disks will not remove the problem cause it still stays on your computers Motherboard. This will proabably cost you a new computer and I sincerely hope this teaches you a lesson not to send people
nasty viruses again.

Evocash Administration Inc.
Phone: +1 767 4499922
Fax: +1 767 4499922



----^+Start^=Auto^Execute+^WORM^---------
----^+Start^=Auto^Execute+^WORM^-------------
----^+Start^=Auto^Execute+^WORM^---------
----^+Start^=Auto^Execute+^WORM^---------
----^+Start^=Auto^Execute+^WORM^---------


There were no attachments but there was a picture at the bottom with worms running accross: http://membres.lycos.fr/lutinette/encyclo/serpent.gif


GRRR i*d*i*o*t*s

Beckie
shaykedelik
looks like its just a hoax! most viruses need something to execute them like a *.exe file to place them where they need to be in order to do their dirty work!
at least, that is what i think of it! ak.gif
i wouldn't really worry about it! ab.gif
moonieb
Dont want to scare you, but there are new worms now, that dont need an exe to get them going, you do just need to open your e-mail......This might just be a joke tho.....so dont be too worried, jjust go and upadte your virus program, and run it, as they were working on a patch for it, and go to windows and download any updates or patches.
moonieb
OMG!

Just looked in my outlook, and the EXACT same e-mail is there!!

It is most defintly from a program owner, as my ISP addy is never used for any forums, or anything...excpet the odd PTRE program.

am.gif

FYI: I actually can see it in "mailwasher" so it is still on the server, and it has come up as a KNOWN spammer address, so I would say 100% hoax.......Next you will probably get an e-mail advertising worm removal etc....I would not panic aa.gif
doobster
QUOTE
Dont want to scare you, but there are new worms now, that dont need an exe to get them going, you do just need to open your e-mail......This might just be a joke tho.....so dont be too worried, jjust go and upadte your virus program, and run it, as they were working on a patch for it, and go to windows and download any updates or patches.


Most email programs to not automatically run attachments except of course stupid Microsoft Outlook.
maxendonna
QUOTE
Most email programs to not automatically run attachments except of course stupid Microsoft Outlook.


Which you can disable thru options....
kittysdoc
Got the email too...nothing seems to be wrong with the system...ran AVG and nothing came up.
cashjob
you can prevent even OE to cause infections if you set it up right.

First you go into internet explorer options and make sure that your restricted sites in the security tab are set to block/disable/prompt pretty much anything.

Then go into the outlook express options and set under the security tab to use the "restricted sites" IE zone and make sure to select both options directly below that.

This wil do the following.
If you get infected atleast you can't spread it because you have prevented any program(including viruses/worms) to send mail as you or atleast allows you to stop it.
It wil also prevent certain controls (ie activex etc) from working in html emails so they cannot trigger any infections/intrusions etc.
It wil also prevent you from saving suspicious attachements. I leave this one open, and prefer to use my virus scanner to make sure of this kind of stuff myself. AVG has a pretty good OE plugin that seems to weed out the bad attachements and updates itself regularly. Sofar i have only seen it miss once but i believe it was a trojan, not a virus.
most important anyway...if you dont know where it came from...dont open it.

And yes, follow the great advice above and check update on a regular basis.

Lastly. if you want to see how your pc is doing in regards to security(and a bunch of other things) go to pcpitstop and do the full range of tests.

hope this helps
ekelly
Totallyduh,

I noticed the: From: info@evocash.com
at the beginning of that email you posted.


Go to this website (it's the main page at evocash.com) and read what is written on that page.
It may help to explain what has happened to you.
Maybe the people described on that page have something to do with this?

Here is the site:
http://www.evocash.com/index.cfm?w=1024


Update: here is another page from the evocash website:
http://www.evocash.com/index.cfm?fuseactio...ion=dsp_warning

Use the dropdown box above the message where it says: "Read The Latest" to see all the warnings about this group of people. Sounds like they are trying to destroy EvoCash
6stringer
I got the same thing and I don't even know who the h*ll evocash is!!

I don't e-mail anyone with the e-mail addy they sent it to, unless it's family or friends. I use it to receive mail from 2 PTRs, but that's it.
kittysdoc
I have spoke with evocash about this email...this was definately sent by the ICAFE group...A group of people that are trying to blackmail and get rid of evocash. Evocash delete all their accounts so it looks like the ICAFE group are waging war on Evocash.
Any budding Private investigators out there??? Evocash are offering a $5000 reward for any information that leads to a conviction against these people..

Oh...I'm not a member of Evocash...so how they got my email address is a mystery!!!
peer
Got it too

What a week, first a wm upsets me with a boycott mail (though my country was not on the list), and now this.

I can tell you, this upsets me 1000% more.
Real sick.
This is no joke, this is no fun.

How is it possible to trace those/that sick impotent loser that are upsetting us just to bring another site damage?
jordi49
Evocash is just another e-currency company.

Here is an excerpt from their warning #3:

QUOTE
As soon as we blocked the last of the ICafe Group accounts they started to send
out Spam messages. These messages are being sent at random to thousands of
email addresses. The abusive message they sent was done to make as many people
as they can angry so that they complain to Evocash. These people have created a
fake Evocash address which makes it look like the email came from us, this is
not difficult to do and a ten year old is capable of making up any fake
address. Some of the recent messages are now saying that a worm or virus has
been delivered that will wreck your computer, this of course is not true
it?s just another ploy to make you angry.  We also know that at the same
time they have decided to attack a company called e-forexgold, a well known and
highly respected Australian exchanger (www.e-forexgold.com) and Stormpay
another online currency business who will not give in to their fraudulent
demands. These ICafe people have done exactly the same thing and created a
bogus info@e-forexgold.com email address and a stormpay.com address, which they
are using to send out abusive messages.
If you have received an abusive email from these people then we apologize and
can assure you that it did not come from e-forexgold Stormpay or us. Please
read the other warnings about this group by going to www.evocash.com and
clicking on the drop down box of our warning page (please read all 6 warnings)
it will become quite obvious that this has come about because we would not give
in to their blackmail threats.


Do go to their site and read all 6 warnings that they have posted...

One of the interesting things you will see are some of the sites that this criminal group are running (inferred from the accounts they had with evocash).

aa.gif
Zombie Master
I got it as well, just reported it as spam aa.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.