Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SCAM ALERT!!!
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
jordi49
Here follows an email I received today:

QUOTE
 


Dear PayPal Customer


This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal to detect inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes.

The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3 months.

Please confirm your email address and and Credit Card info number by logging in to your PayPal account using the form below:




Email Address: 
Password: 
Full Name #: 
Credit Card #: 
Exp.Date(mm/yyyy) #: 
ATM PIN (For Bank Verification) #: 

 


This notification expires May 31, 2003


Thanks for using PayPal!


This PayPal notification was sent to your mailbox. Your PayPal account is set up to receive the PayPal Periodical newsletter and product updates when you create your account. To modify your notification preferences and unsubscribe, go to https://www.paypal.com/PREFS-NOTI and log in to your account. Changes to your preferences may take several days to be reflected in our mailings. Replies to this email will not be processed.

If you previously asked to be excluded from Providian product offerings and solicitations, they apologize for this e-mail. Every effort was made to ensure that you were excluded from this e-mail. If you do not wish to receive promotional e-mail from Providian, go to http://removeme.providian.com/.

Copyright? 2002 PayPal Inc. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. 


This is so blatant a scam, that hopefully nobody will get taken in, but you never know...

I'm going to make a copy and post it to the Complaints Forum as well as the Online Payment Systems Forum. Admin please decide if you want to leave both threads open...

Can anyone believe this?....Sheeesh!!! av.gif
hatefrauders
tell me abt it..today i received an email from 'FBI' telling me that I have committed of several crimes so i need to click on a link. i just forwarded that email to yahoo spam report. on hind sight i should have reported the entire email to FBI itself and get this guy screwed for posing as FBI..... :ph34r:
adhelp
QUOTE (hatefrauders @ May 22 2003, 11:08 PM)
tell me abt it..today i received an email from 'FBI' telling me that I have committed of several crimes so i need to click on a link. i just forwarded that email to yahoo spam report. on hind sight i should have reported the entire email to FBI itself and get this guy screwed for posing as FBI..... :ph34r:

i recently got a mail for support@microsoft.com and it was send by an wanadoo.fr account (smtp-server) ...
SURE ...
cherylwaldrop
that email from support@microsoft.com (if it's got an attachment with it) has a virus in it. just recieved that little present myself. better do a virus scan quick !!
jazmyni
There is also one going around for moneybookers....that looks alot like the site ....I send to support there

and a few new funny ones from E-gold
SolidLikeRock
Is the one pretending to come from suuport@microsoft.com had attachments in it?
I received virus alert with attachment,never opened it,just deleted it,is it still dangerous or
if not opening attachment nothing to be worried about?
jordi49
Depends, if you are reading the mail over the internet and use yahoo or hotmail, they scan the attachment for you...don't know how many other services do the same...

If you have downloaded the messages (even from a yahoo or hotmail account) by using an email handling program like Outlook, then the message is already in your computer and you are best off deleting any messages containing attachments unless they come from someone you know...even then it is best if you have an antivirus protect program running before you open ANY attachments...your friend's email might be infected by a worm type virus...

aa.gif
djw
I received the paypal scam email on my different hotmail accounts too. I've already forwarded a copy to paypal and they will have their investigation team look into it. I take this things very seriously. If I could find out the domain host, I would have alerted them as well.
karlata
QUOTE (jordi49 @ May 23 2003, 07:59 AM)
If you previously asked to be excluded from Providian product offerings and solicitations, they apologize for this e-mail. Every effort was made to ensure that you were excluded from this e-mail. If you do not wish to receive promotional e-mail from Providian, go to http://removeme.providian.com/.

What's with this bit? It's not normally in PP emails.....some mass-mailer's auto-signature maybe?
lene
lol i got the one from fbi as well....dear lharbo you are a suspect in different crimes or something like that....said it wasn't anything big though...lol
jordi49
Hi Karlata,

Not entirely sure about the providian bit, I used to have a credit card (listed with Paypal) issued by providian, but providian sold my account to another company several months ago, I think they had financial problems and sold off all their accounts actually; so they may have sold off other things too, like cardholders data.

am.gif
ZapGurl
I received the FBI one too... thought it was hilarious. Hope not to many people took it seriously.
LKSMTS
I got the email from Microsoft support with an attachment too. My antivirus software caught it. So be careful. It is a virus.
cherylwaldrop
QUOTE (jazmyni @ May 23 2003, 07:01 AM)
There is also one going around for moneybookers....that looks alot like the site ....I send to support there

and a few new funny ones from E-gold

i got the moneybookers one too (request for payment for oil from george w. bush) and forwarded it to support also. haven't gotten anything from E-gold yet. now i feel left out.... ah.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.