Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: E-gold SCAM
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
monica
I got this mail this morning. Looks legitimate right...

""Dear e-gold member,

we are sorry to inform you that we had to disable your account. After many unsuccessfull login attempts to your account, we shut it down to prevent any type of security breach to your account and our servers. Please use this link https://www.e-gold.com/ssl/cgi-bin/websrc=cmd?=_l2ej33 to Log In to your account using our SSL security server.

Sincerely,

Thomas Cooks

https://www.e-gold.com ""


Wrong!!.. When you click on the url it takes you to a non secure site, even if there was an https in the url in the mail sent, the site was not secure.. no https when you finally get there and there was not lock in the task bar.

If you cut and paste the url it comes up as a page with an error.

Careful

Just thought I would let you know.
ivanr
mmmz this link do nothing
is it the same <a> link you have in the mail ?
petcalent
Do not click never a link in an email for payment
systems, moreover if it says "please use this link
to log in"...
lazymails
When i clicked the link i got a page at the egold site. With the lock and the https but if you don't trust it go to the egold site and contact them trough there.
monica
when I click the link from my email it gives different results.. I guess to further confirm that it is a scam and a way to steal my $0.00234 cents that I have in the e-gold account.aa.gif
samosanjinocrce
heheh...that is lot of money...be carefull:) heheh
debra2
If everyone would remember that never does any online money acct send you to unsecured pages to deal with your issues these emails wouldn't have any effect.

IF for some reason you get an email ALWAYS go to the site OUTSIDE of the email NOT using the link AT ALL. You will then be able to change your info or check on it whatever it was they swear was wrong in the first place.

IF you don't give these crooks much to work with they'll have nothing to earn by sending these emails out.
karlata
Hi guys,

The reason those of you who are trying it from here are getting the real e-gold page is because the link would be set up like this in the email:

CODE
<a href=http://some.other.server>https://www.e-gold.com</a>


this would appear in the email as https://www.e-gold.com, but tkae you to http://some.other.server when you click it.

When you copy/paste from an email though, all you get is the actual text, so once pasted here it actually becomes a valid e-gold link aa.gif

QUOTE
if you don't trust it go to the egold site and contact them trough there.


No offence meant, lazymails, but there isn't an 'if' involved here. If it claims to be e-gold, but gives a link or login form in the email, it's fake. The link, as pasted, is valid because of what I've just explained. I *still* wouldn't use it to log in. Why? I have a bookmark, that I know, 100% for sure takes me to the right page. That's the only means I ever use to access e-gold. If *that* bookmark causes me to lose my account, or the contents thereof, then I know that it's e-gold's security that was the issue, as I will have followed their security measures exactly.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.