Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: e-gold warning possible
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
gambler100
i just received this email please tell me what you think



Dear e-gold User,
During our regular update of servers and verification of the accounts, we couldn't verify your account information. Either your information has been changed or it has been lost.
If the account information is not updated to current information within 5 days then, your e-gold account will be suspended.
Go to this link below to update your account information:

https://www.e-gold.com/acct/login.asp?accVerify

***Please Do Not Reply To This E-Mail As You Will Not Receive A Response***


Thank you
Accounts Management

As outlined in our User Agreement, e-gold will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions.

Copyright 2003 e-gold Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
e-gold and the e-gold logo are trademarks of e-gold Ltd.





Copyright ? 1995-2003 e-gold Ltd. All Rights
Billytallent
scam
EurekaSearch
yes scam ah.gif

and I might be wrong but I think egold started in 1996 and not 1995

so it should be copyright 1996-2003 ad.gif
SOS
I think its legit...

If you view the security certificate it belogns to www.e-gold.com
jlmaster
certainly a scam here whatever you do don't send any information
rubypickle
if it were me...I would not do it


but I would contact egold somehow and ask them if they sent that out.
Billytallent
heres an idea change something in your profile

wait for the confirmation

it states im pretty sure to never respond to any solicitation from egold
ILostMyTrueLove
i thought e-gold and paypal both have practices not to send out emails like this.
tazar
E-gold states that they do not send you emails besides the one when you subscribe so i have to say it is a fraude tring to steal your money.
flashcash1
DO NOT click that link and then go and enter your info to login.

Enter the e-gold website into your browser manually, then login and check that your info is ok.

E-gold will NEVER include a link for you to click and then enter your information.

That is how so much fraud takes place. Most people do not know about this.
tazar
From the looks of it that link looks very real but as a note if you have to login into your e-gold do it by going to their page at www.e-gold.com and not by links in email.
MindyRay
shoot, I got a couple e-mails like that but for something else. Hope they were legit. I'm gonna check right now.
flashcash1
By the way, you should forward that email to e-gold. Every little tiny thing helps them to catch fraudulant activities.

I get these emails frequently and ALWAYS forward them to e-gold.
gambler100
i sent the email to egold when i received i will see whart they say
karlata
For those that are thinking the link is real, yes, as pasted it is.

However, in the original email, that link would actually be pointing to another page.

For those of you familiar with html tags, it's something like this:

<A HREF="http://completely.different.site/stealyourpassphrase.html">https://www.e-gold.com/login.asp</A>

Unfortunately when most email clients copy/paste, they only take the text, not the associated links. This is why what has been pasted appears to be valid.
pepo
it is pure scam am.gif
look what is written at the e-gold site


QUOTE
Fake Emails purporting to be from e-gold
PLEASE BE ADVISED E-GOLD WILL NEVER SEND YOU AN HTML EMAIL WITH A HYPERTEXT LINK ASKING YOU TO CLICK ON THE LINK TO ACCESS YOUR ACCOUNT!

There are numerous fraudulent emails in circulation spoofing e-mail addresses in the e-gold.com domain. These emails direct you to log into your account to verify information or update information and they usually operate on greed or fear in order to entice victims to click a hypertext link.

These emails may say your account has a value limit, you have received fraudulent funds, your account will be closed for inactivity, or that e-gold is paying monthly interest payments.

Regardless of the subject line of the fraudulent emails, they always have one thing in common. The hypertext link in the email will appear to be to the e-gold website, but if clicked, it directs the victim to a fraudulent website, designed to ensnare the careless by mimicking the appearance of the real e-gold website. The technique used to obscure the true destination of such hypertext links is via the use of HTML formatted e-mail.

The ultimate goal of the criminal is to entice his victims to enter their e-gold account number and passphrase while on the fraudulent website. Once the criminal has gained this information, he has everything he needs to log in to the victim's e-gold account on the real e-gold website and divert the value.

We urge Users to:

Never click hypertext links in HTML formatted e-mail to access your account.
Confirm that you are on the e-gold website before entering your e-gold passphrase into either a logon form or a payment authorization form (see note below about e-gold shopping cart interface):
Verify the address/location/URL starts with: https://www.e-gold.com/
Verify the site is secure (look at the SSL Lock icon at the bottom of your browser window)
Verify that the site certificate is issued by VeriSign to www.e-gold.com
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.