MAHarmon
Apr 4 2003, 04:54 PM
WARNING! I just got around to opening the 4/2 email from CrazyForCash and the "link" was actually a program (don't know the techie term) that instead of going to a site, opens and exposes your C drive. If anyone else has any info about what to DO about this, can we share it here? I emailed the webmaster and there have been no other emails since that one so I am running scared.
Anyone know what I am talking about, how to remedy this AND how in the world did this happen??????
MAHarmon
Apr 4 2003, 05:08 PM
Thea just emailed me back and say's it' okay SO I AM goig to TRUST that it's okay. I just know itshard to open and expose a c drive from an email link through AOL mail since AOL automatically converts the error to it's seach engine. Since I loe Thea's other programs, I am trusting this was an honest mistake.
Sorry Thea..... I can't tell you how many times I've had hacking problems, hard drive corruption, etc when nothing has ever been downloaded so I'm sure you can understand my worry. Don't know HOW you managed to link it but what a scare!!!!
xo melyssa
hillbilly01
Apr 4 2003, 07:16 PM
QUOTE (MAHarmon @ Apr 5 2003, 07:08 AM)
I can't tell you how many times I've had hacking problems, hard drive corruption, etc when nothing has ever been downloaded
Hi
You dont need to download anything most programs now download themselves
I say you should get spybot run that on your system and see what you come up with
heres a quick link
http://spybot.eon.net.au/index.php?lang=en...n&page=downloadhope that helps
A good firewall would help too.