Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Course of action against Thane
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Webmaster's Corner > General Discussion on Building, Running & Making Money from a Website
in2travel
Hi all.

I mada a post at GPTBoycot forum and DAz who is fairly savvy in these types of matters posted the following -


QUOTE
Thanks for the kind words, in2. This is far too important to delay waiting on my getting to the office. I've found a site that should help those that have been victimized:

http://www.usdoj.gov/criminal/cybercrime/reporting.htm

I suspect each of the following will apply, so scroll down and look for: Computer intrusion (i.e. hacking); Password trafficking; and, Copyright (software, movie, sound recording) piracy. Also, paragraph preceeding these listings provides links to the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) and the NAAG's Computer Crime Point-of-Contact List CCPC. I would strongly recommend that any webmaster/webmistress, or anyone else for that matter, having been affected by this person use the link provided and file the necessary complaints to expedite prosecution.

If anyone knows someone who has been victimized, send them the above link or a link to this thread.

Thanks,

Ron




I believe Ron works for the attorney generals office in one of the states and although he is not a lawyer, he knows how to get information and is very helpful.

I thought I'd pass this on to you if you are thinking of taking this matter further. Although I don't know whether it was or wasn't Thane, the problem is if everyone dismisses it all of the time, the the person keeps getting away with it and nothing is ever done.

You can also follow any other information DAz comes up with here -

http://www.gptboycott.com/forum/showthread...=&threadid=1725


I hope this is of some help.
petersenlisa1
For anyone who has not read the Myecom forum it may be a good idea, it seems that there has been a new developement in this whole terrible mess. It seems someone else may be responsible other than Thane. Someone going by the name William Bowen. It has been said that whoever this is, is taking revenge on sites that they have been deleted from, I know for a fact they were a member of DustyGold and when John added the new scripts to catch cheaters that person came up as a definate cheater in my database and was removed. I guess they got their revenge ah.gif

Thanks to all for the support and I hope to have the site back up again soon.
cashpalace
I have contacted the FBI through the link provided by DAZ. They have sent me the following e-mail:

Subject: FBI Response - Hacking
Dear Mr. Perlberg,

Thank you for submitting your information concerning a possible
compromise of Internet sites. We suggest that the best avenue to submit
your information is the CERT web site at http://www.cert.org. CERT is
the Computer Emergency Response Team located at the Software Engineering
Institute (SEI) at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, PA. CERT
is a center for Internet security excellence and they publish
information concerning current cyber security topics as well as maintain
a knowledge base of attack techniques and solutions to prevent the
attacks which is available at their web site. The FBI works closely
with CERT and you can also report your incident to CERT through their
web site.

In addition to CERT, you may report your incident directly to the
National Infrastructure Protection Center (NIPC) which is hosted by the
FBI. Information concerning the NIPC is available at
http://www.nipc.gov. A detailed incident reporting form is available at
their site as well.

Once again, thank you for reporting your information to the FBI.

Sincerely,

David N. Rushing,
Supervisory Special Agent
FBI Headquarters
Washington, D.C.

Now I have been to the two sites suggested to fill out an incident report, but on the forms to fill out there is a lot of information that I do not have pertaining to servers, host machines, ip addresses, companies affected. I do not have the information. Maybe someone that is in the loop more, and knows all the exact details can go visit the site and fill out the form, or visit the site, gather all the required info and e-mail me the info to webmaster@cashpalacepaidmail.com. I will then go and fill out the forms.
in2travel
isn't he the owner of PaidBizOpMail? ar.gif


Apparently not according to someone at MyEcom Forum.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.