Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Got me one of those e-gold letters
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
kimberley49
I got me an e-gold letter. I didn't know how to detect the html until now.

Here's the info on mine. When you click the login button, it is secretly taking you to:
http://www.usagoldexchange.com/cgi-bin/fb.php

When I typed in usagoldexchange.com, it took me to a site with characters that I can't read.

The only thing on the page that I could read was this:
http://mthost.ru/

When I put that into my browser, it took me to what looks like a Russian webhosting company.

I can't print the word I put in as my passphrase.

This is about the 10th one this week. Normally, I just delete them, but this time I wanted to know exactly where it was coming from.

--Kimberley
Kanarek
it seems that many of them are coming from Russia. But we cannot be 100% sure.

What is disturbing is that it is very simple to make such a fake website andan email. I tried it once and it took me just two hours to make a genuilne looking e-gold account entry form. Anyone with average HTML skills can make one and send out those emails.

I wonder how many people get tricked and give away theri real password?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.