Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: copyright?
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
funkymotha
http://mailclub.ath.cx

they state on their site they are ' The Mail Club' surely that is my copyright!

they are 'Mail Club'

anyone know anything about this sort of thing?
Thanatos
ae.gif
badkitty
I think whoever this person is they have made a not so good start. This is now posted on their homepage:

NOTE: I got nastrygram from some chick that is supposed to own "the mailclub" copyright (mailclub.com) - I dont have time to challenge that so this place will be know later on as "The Club", new domain will be regged soon. Chick, you might have © in US, but not here, UP YOURS!

I defo won't be using this program. Who needs more uptight webmasters to deal with. Certainly not me!
jazmyni
the only way you can stop this sort of thing...is to buy all the domains with your name......it S&$#( but thats the only option...Just like with Names of Stores or Businesses....its hard to regulate...I live in Canada....I could have my business registed as....... Junk & Stuff................well there could be Several businesses.....threwout Canada,,,the US ,,,,and the world with that same name...Only way to pervent it is to make it a Trademark......Like...Disney......which would cost quite a bit ah.gif
outlawz523
omg.. they are a mail club so indeed they can state they are, " the mail club".

like if they were to say. "We are the Mail club to Join". it is legal..
it is not a copyright issue but a registered issue
funkymotha
But why on earth would they use that knowing there is another PTRE out there that is actually 'The Mail Club' why couldnt they just put on their main page 'Mail Club' ?

My point is ... this is a newly launched company and if the poo hits the fan then my site gets labelled too.
outlawz523
Have you tried contacting them, and settling.. for something.. Maybe if you offer to buy it from them.. and they wont bug.. or think of something you know..
funkymotha
I did contact them, hence they put that I sent a nastyogram on the main page. It shows what kind of program it really is.
Poncer
I am wondering why there are so many programs with the same name out there? There are like 6 or 7 programs with Paid2Read type in their title. It gets confusing.
baph0met
I doubt you could even get "The Mail Club" trademarked, since it's a very common name/phrase/whatever and if no one would be allowed to call themselves "Mail Club" it'd be monopoly... Imagine companies named "The Pool House", "The Golf Club", etc. I don't remember too much about trademark laws, I didn't pay too much attention to the Legal Aspects of IT course I took, but I think things are like I say...
You could get a trademark patent for "The Funky Mail Club", but not "The Mail Club"

One more thing. You might want to ask a lawyer too, I think you didn't have a point when you asked those guys to change the name of their program. in the States you need a written document in order to claim trademark. Even then you can't prevent others from registering other TLD's with the same name (I've seen microsoft.shop for sale on ebay at $1M), only if they host the domain they get busted for trademark infringement.
royalexile
It would appear that they are now called 'YourSiteName' !!!

http://www.theclub.ath.cx/paidmail/site/pa...ail=&ps=&refid=
Kristin
lmao! with a
QUOTE
? Copyright 2003 The Club, all Rights Reserved.
at the very bottom of the page.

maybe they should call themselves the mickey mouse club, lol.
KensLuv22
QUOTE (CashRoyal @ Jan 2 2003, 09:50 PM)
It would appear that they are now called 'YourSiteName' !!!

http://www.theclub.ath.cx/paidmail/site/pa...ail=&ps=&refid=

That's a typical cut & paste job if I ever saw one!

I have seen a lot of sites do this when they first put their sites up, or the program owner forgets to put the site's name in place of "YourSite's Name".
royalexile
QUOTE (KensLuv22 @ Jan 3 2003, 03:09 AM)
That's a typical cut & paste job if I ever saw one!

That seems like a typical 'no sense of humour' job if i ever saw one!
KensLuv22
QUOTE (CashRoyal @ Jan 2 2003, 10:15 PM)
QUOTE (KensLuv22 @ Jan 3 2003, 03:09 AM)
That's a typical cut & paste job if I ever saw one!  

That seems like a typical 'no sense of humour' job if i ever saw one!

Who, me or them?

I was laughing when I posted! aa.gif

I intended no offense to anyone, as I have seen this a lot of times before.

A very well known PTR company did this in their TOS because they forgot to change it. No biggie.

ac.gif
royalexile
QUOTE (KensLuv22 @ Jan 3 2003, 03:32 AM)
QUOTE (CashRoyal @ Jan 2 2003, 10:15 PM)
QUOTE (KensLuv22 @ Jan 3 2003, 03:09 AM)
That's a typical cut & paste job if I ever saw one! ?

That seems like a typical 'no sense of humour' job if i ever saw one!

Who, me or them?

I was laughing when I posted! aa.gif

I intended no offense to anyone, as I have seen this a lot of times before.

A very well known PTR company did this in their TOS because they forgot to change it. No biggie.

ac.gif

So was i !! LOL !!
KensLuv22
????

You'll have to excuse me.....I'm having a blonde moment, here.

You didn't answer my question....

Were you referring to me about the lack of humor?

ao.gif
royalexile
Yes i was referring to you - but in a sarcastic sense! ae.gif

Sorry if i offended, i didn't mean to! ah.gif
funkymotha
well at least that got a giggle out of us all lol

some thing to consider though, I didnt call my other sites 'The Send Cash Emails' or 'The Funky Cash Mail' ac.gif

another point is ... if all our programs are close in name then it doesnt take alot to create an original front page name (for thier own sake as well as the other company's) They could have called themselves 'The Fabulous Mail Club'
or some other name.

Anyway all over now and I wish them good luck with their new name aa.gif
KensLuv22
QUOTE (CashRoyal @ Jan 3 2003, 09:56 AM)
Yes i was referring to you - but in a sarcastic sense! ae.gif

Sorry if i offended, i didn't mean to! ah.gif

No offense taken.....I was just lost for a moment! LOL!

aa.gif aa.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.