Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: to E-GOLD users
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
wpk
I have received this e-mail recently, if you received this, dont log to your account using this e-mail links, because they are FAKE and redirect you to another site where they can STOLE your account password.
If you have used the link of this e-mail to log in your E-GOLD account, please go to E-gold website and CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD NOW before it?s too late !

in message header, it says that message was from chat.ru ([68.102.5.52])

Here is the message i received:

QUOTE
Original Message -----
From: E-Gold Support Team
Sent: Monday, December 30, 2002 10:04 AM
Subject: Attention! Action required with your e-gold account!


Dear E-Gold Customer!

Your e-gold account will be blocked due to no activity.
Please log into your account within 24 hours.
We are sorry for any inconveniences.

E-Gold Support Team.

Click on the link below to log into your e-gold account.

https://www.e-gold.com/acct/login.html    <------------- ( here was a fake link! it was redirected to www.e-gold-com.com , not to e-gold website)
--------------------------------------------------

   * * * NOTE* * *
--------------------------------------------------

Important information about your e-gold account:

- It's OK to tell others your e-gold account number!

Other e-gold Users need your e-gold account number in order to Spend
e-gold to you.  So don't hesitate to display it on your web page,
your business cards, or your e-mail signature file.

- However, *DO NOT* reveal your passphrase to others!!!

Anybody with knowledge of both your e-gold account number and your e-gold
passphrase has complete access to your e-gold account; therefore, do not
reveal your e-gold account passphrase to others.  *NEVER* enter your
passphrase on any website other than the www.e-gold.com web site.

e-gold Resource Links:

- e-gold Account User Agreement:

Ever used a currency with a contract at all, let alone one that clearly
outlined the Issuer's obligations to you?  Well, you are now!  Truly a
"must read" for any e-gold User:

http://www.e-gold.com/unsecure/incentive.htm

- e-gold Incentive Program Information:

Spread the word that better money has arrived and get paid some of it
for doing so (please don't spam):

http://www.e-gold.com/unsecure/incentive.htm

- e-gold brochure:

Having trouble coming up with the words?  Use these (we do!):

http://www.e-gold.com/unsecure/incentive.htm

- e-gold Directory:

Whether you want to obtain some e-gold or part with some,
we have some links to get you started:

http://www.e-gold.com/unsecure/incentive.htm

---------------------------------------------
        Thank you for using e-gold!
---------------------------------------------

Do not reply to this email."


After i discovered this fake link, i have asked E-GOLD support about this strange e-mail, and here is the answer:

QUOTE
The email you received was not sent by e-gold Ltd and was a fraudulent
attempt to compromise your e-gold account. We are in the process of getting
the ISP provider to shut down the illegal site. If you entered your account
information using the email you received, please change your passphrase
immediately!

If you are unable to access your account please contact our passphrase
department at passphrase@e-gold.com . They will be able to help you regain
access to your account.

Also, please bookmark the correct e-gold site https://www.e-gold.com and
only access it via your bookmark or type it into your browser window. You
should never access your e-gold account via a link in an email message even
if the message appears to come from e-gold.

Thank you,
e-gold service


Never log to your E-gold account using e-mail links !
Zombie Master
They should go after the person that is sending it. It is someone using Cox.net in the US.

68.102.5.52 equals ip68-102-5-52.ks.ok.cox.net.

Is there more to the header than that though?

Post the full header if you can, you can edit the TO: email addresses, but dont change anything else.
Poncer
I got that same e-mail, and I have the header of who sent it. It is some scammer in Russia that is sending these e-mails.
astrangemix
I got two different ones. You can see the complete header (without my addy) at the links below. I also have the whois on both domains. Have no idea if it is legit. The fact that there has been a rash of them lately maybe because someone was advertising a link at e-specie on how to hack e-gold accounts. They 1st link I saw (at e-specie) was disabled the 2nd link went to a group at msn.ca.

http://www.canadianowned.ca/tx1.txt

http://www.canadianowned.ca/txt2.txt
Zombie Master
QUOTE (Poncer @ Jan 1 2003, 09:44 AM)
I got that same e-mail, and I have the header of who sent it. It is some scammer in Russia that is sending these e-mails.

Poncer, dont work on the chat.ru. You work on the IP that is next to it. I have made a post in another thread on here somewhere explaining how to read the headers. IF you are in doubt about it run the headers through Spamcop.

It seems though there might be a few people doing this. Or just two, but the chat.ru in the emails is a fake.
outlawz523
have you not read other post


ok people, some of you have been getting emails and telling everyone if this is a scam or not
This is to clear it all once and for all
if you get an e-gold email dont open it just erase it, they dont send out emails, the only email you will receive is when you first join. They will send you an email with your account number, but this is the only email that you will ever receive.
always make sure you see https:// when your login in

ALWAYS USE THE MINI KEYBOARD TO KEEP OF KEY LOGGERS, I know how key login programs work and its very easy to get a persons info.
everything that your even typing now can be key logged.

Dont use any spyware programs like gator or any sort that already has forms filled when your FILLING OUT FORMS DUH!!
go to http://download.com.com/3000-2094-10045910.html and download this program is will scan your computer and find any spyware programs you have installed DONT THINK YOU DONT HAVE ANY , JUST BECAUSE YOU DIDNT INSTALL THEM. Most of them install themselves. Your gonna be
surprised to how many nasty little programs your going to find.

DOWNLOAD A GOOD FIREWALL, LIKE ZONE ALARM. go to http://downloads-zdnet.com.com/3001-2092-10153453.html and download the latest version. This is one of the best Firewalls around and I recommend it. Keeps most hacks from coming into your computer and it will always ask you if you want your info to leave. Very secure.

Last but not least, download a good anti virus. PCcillin is a very good one. go to http://www.trendmicro.com/en/products/desk...luate/trial.htm and download it. For extra added security buy the prog. But they do have a freeware. PCcillin will automatically scan your computer once a week and by month. Search one part of your comp then onother and it updates itself, when you log into the internet. If you use DSL when you first start your comp it will ask you if you want to download the latest update or version of PCcillin. Doesnt get any easier then this now.

Thats it for now, Hope this is useful to most of you!!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.