Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Possible SCAM Alert!
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
freeandeasy
The owner of Theta Emails got this email:

====

Hi! I'd like more info on your business opportunity. I am using a friend's

computer. You cannot email me. Please call Cindy at 920-685-5165.

Thank you very much!

====

The reply addy of the above is mat1a@mojekonto.com


A google search yielded this:
Theron and Bonnie Coats, (920) 685-5165, 4736 Eureka Rd, Omro, WI 54963




The owner of Income Emails got an almost identical mail, except the phone number was 920-361-4939

Google search again:
Jack Ostrander, (920) 361-4939, N1181 37th Ave, Berlin, WI 54923
S Thompson, (920) 361-4939, N1181 37th Ave, Berlin, WI 54923

I don't know what it means, but it's mighty suspicious.
ak.gif
Brianlfc
Hmm, it maybe one of them Premium rate phone call scams!

What are the first few digits to Premium rate calls in the USA?

Theres been quite a few of these type of scams in the UK, you phone the number and don't realise you're getting charged anything from ?1.00 to ?20 a minute!

There was a terrible one somewhere over here this year, this is how they scammed people!

A lady would knock at someones door claiming her car had broken down and could she phone her husband. With the lady looking very respectable and well dressed people agreed, thinking they could trust her ah.gif

The lady would use the phone, pretending to chat to her husband and then leave, thanking the people.

A few weeks later these people were getting the phone bills and seeing these phone calls were actually to a premium line set-up by this lady and it had charged them ?10 a minute!!!

Not saying thats what this is, but you never know!!!
Poncer
Why does it seems to be Wisconsin? You should tell them to do an IP lookup on those e-mails to see where it comes from.
moonieb
I just got an e-mail from incomemail, with a warning about this letter....It is in short SPAM.....There are hundreds of them been sent out, all with different phone numbers on them......do not phone them it is SPAM.
kglaser
Well, this is a new one, at any rate. ai.gif
Poncer
Well, it is like a spam I have been getting. Someone thinks I own GreenHurricane, and I should buy the domain rights for it. Blah. No reply from the jerk yet. am.gif
sore_fingers
QUOTE (Poncer @ Dec 19 2002, 11:21 PM)
Why does it seems to be Wisconsin? You should tell them to do an IP lookup on those e-mails to see where it comes from.

No, I think 920 is offshore, that's where the phone scams come from. Usually islands like Jamaica and such...the phone company gets a share of the profit.
sore_fingers
QUOTE (brianlfc @ Dec 19 2002, 11:20 PM)
Hmm, it maybe one of them Premium rate phone call scams!

What are the first few digits to Premium rate calls in the USA?

Theres been quite a few of these type of scams in the UK, you phone the number and don't realise you're getting charged anything from ?1.00 to ?20 a minute!

There was a terrible one somewhere over here this year, this is how they scammed people!

A lady would knock at someones door claiming her car had broken down and could she phone her husband. With the lady looking very respectable and well dressed people agreed, thinking they could trust her ah.gif

The lady would use the phone, pretending to chat to her husband and then leave, thanking the people.

A few weeks later these people were getting the phone bills and seeing these phone calls were actually to a premium line set-up by this lady and it had charged them ?10 a minute!!!

Not saying thats what this is, but you never know!!!

There are things like that here too, but here in the US 900 calls are considered non-collectable debts. You can just refuse to pay them.
That's why all the scam psychic numbers switched over to 1800 and demand credit cards upfront.
Przemek
mat1a@mojekonto.com?

it's a polish domain! "moje konto" means "my account"
mainetrain
Hello All :D

Just thought I'd let you know area code 920 is from Wisconsin.
That's where I am from.... errr not that area code tho ;)
freeandeasy
QUOTE (EPOnEIM @ Dec 20 2002, 10:37 PM)
Hello All ab.gif

Just thought I'd let you know area code 920 is from Wisconsin.
That's where I am from.... errr not that area code tho ac.gif

Thanks for letting us know!
But there is still something funny about those mails.
princessbbf2
i got one of those too:

Hi! I'd like more info on your business opportunity. I am using a friend's
computer. You cannot email me. Please call Stephanie at 610-775-1525.

Thank you very much!


from 'The Pattersons' - mat1a@mojekonto.com

Google says:
G Plevyak, (610) 775-1525, 200 Springside Dr, Reading, PA 19607

i didn't do anything with it. just figured they'd got the wrong addy or something. ar.gif
tatgirl2
I got one this morning too...

Hi! I'd like more info on your business opportunity. I am using a friend's computer. You cannot email me. Please call Cindy at 920-685-5165.

Thank you very much!
djtimor
Wierd...
Jays-PaidMail
I get one every day something like that ah.gif
Shelly
QUOTE (Jays-PaidMail @ Dec 21 2002, 03:14 PM)
I get one every day something like that ah.gif

well you ARE "The King".....I wanna "hack" you ae.gif
shadowman
QUOTE (Shelly @ Dec 22 2002, 05:46 AM)
QUOTE (Jays-PaidMail @ Dec 21 2002, 03:14 PM)
I get one every day something like that  :(

well you ARE "The King".....I wanna "hack" you ae.gif

"BLINK" Why do I feel I just read something X rated. ak.gif av.gif ai.gif ab.gif ad.gif
Shelly
well then maybe you should go wash your eyes out with soap as Mama would say ab.gif
Flanneljava
I got this one:

Hi! I'd like more info on your business opportunity. I am using a friend's
computer. You cannot email me.
Please call Robin at 203-373-0714.

Thank you very much!


look like its going all around.
Anyone actually call these numbers?
sultra
okay tip. I took interent security for awhile. If this is coming through or from your isp you can go to who is. IT's a program that you ad the isp address and it pulls up where it is coming from . This i weird. Never heard of it before.

TRish:)
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.