Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 01:50 PM
My site www.snatchandgrab.orcon.net.nz (copyright material belonging to me)
this cr*p a** rip off
what can I do?
http://www28.brinkster.com/grabitfree/
WealthByEmail
Dec 9 2002, 01:58 PM
You are going to have to get your paperwork from the library of congress. Look up the owner of the site in the whosit database. Contact the owner and tell him to cease if not get a lawyer IF you think it is worth the cost. You are going to have to prove that his site is causing your site to lose funding because internet copyright laws do not have the same protections as printed material in the USA. If the site is outside the US then good luck there won't be much you can do. I used to be in the music business I have some knowledge of copyright laws but best to contact an attorney. Namely an entertainment attorney. A consult will probaly only cost from 50 - 100 dollars. Good Luck
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 02:01 PM
I'm outside the US... but won't let that stop me... this site is a piece of cr*p... I and my partner worked hard and to have it ripped off like this is just pathetic!
Its not like a "Get paid" site where the scripts are available for $199.95 this was original.. as I said I've contacted the person hes hosting it on and I've sent him a private message.. this really isn't on!
I have no problem with people linking from their site to mine but to steal it all (and its obvious both in the design and in the way he wasn't even changed all the links argh!)
Thankyou for your advice
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 02:08 PM
Its obvious he DID not read my Disclaimer page
Copyright:
Every item and structure (logos, graphics, contents and layouts) on this site is copyrighted by SnG. The information presented here may not under any circumstances be resold or redistributed for compensation of any kind without prior written permission from SnG.
solo
Dec 9 2002, 02:21 PM
If you look at the html it is using your site for source
src="s n a t c h a n d g r a b _ o r c o n _ n e t _ n z everything free for new
can't deny that can they?
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 02:24 PM
Exactly!!
I'm so peeved about this that I'm ready to do whatever I have to do... however I'll wait for the partner to get home as he designed it and then I'll decide where to go from here..
seems Mr blackfire has made a hasty exit after being discovered I've PM him twice with no reply.. why? because he knows hes done something wrong yet the site is still up!! hopefully not for much longer seeing as I've contacted the host..
grrr
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 02:58 PM
Done!
Hello,
Thank you for the report.
The account has been terminated and the files removed from our servers.
Barry Japczynski
Brinkster Support
Can't fault them for removing it so fast... now I just have to make sure he doesn't do it again
kglaser
Dec 9 2002, 03:02 PM
Allllll right! He's outta there.

Boy, that would make me so furious...I hope you roast his thieving little behind to the fullest extent of the law (as budgetary constraints may permit).
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 03:08 PM
Well it GETS WORSE
Hes now contacted me and told that that copies of my website are being SOLD for $2!!!
For ch*ist sakes!! I want all contacts details and I'll take these guys to court..
kglaser
Dec 9 2002, 03:11 PM
billiev
Dec 9 2002, 03:32 PM
ooooohhhhhhhh, that would make me so mad
This may be a dumb question, but is there a way to keep your site from being copied?? What I mean is there a way to keep the view source from being shown??
kiwinz
Dec 9 2002, 03:36 PM
there is program that can incrypt all html code so it looks like
%^&*()(*$)((()_()_*)(_)(_+)_+)_+789709839008A8789z&*(&89790--=
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 03:38 PM
QUOTE (kiwinz @ Dec 9 2002, 09:36 PM)
there is program that can incrypt all html code so it looks like
%^&*()(*$)((()_()_*)(_)(_+)_+)_+789709839008A8789z&*(&89790--=
hmm well I might have to go find it.. or if anybody can head me in the right direction..
I guess I also need to search around and somehow find if there are any others copies of my website floating around..
gees today sucks
solo
Dec 9 2002, 03:53 PM
there's something called tagslock...........haven't tried it but they have a free evaluation offer so you can try before you buy
Xeose
Dec 9 2002, 03:55 PM
I can help you encrypt your HTML file, PM me and I'll find that site. I know there is an easy form that encrypts your source code into a javascript thing. People can still copy you but they cant edit anything. So they can cut and paste all your code to their site but it'll have all your text, links, etc.
Thanatos
Dec 9 2002, 04:02 PM
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 04:05 PM
QUOTE (Thanatos @ Dec 9 2002, 10:02 PM)
Every single one of those programs takes only seconds to break their 'security' if that's what someone wants to do. There are NO ways to securely cloak the code that makes up a page. All you would be doing is throwing your money away.
I'm well aware of how easy it is to crack things if you want to.. but at least it would be making it just that little bit harder for them.. this isn't just stealing a website anymore its selling MY work on for a profit..
I want details of who sold him my site but as of yet haven't got a reply to my request..
6stringer
Dec 9 2002, 04:05 PM
But at least it would protect your code from those who don't know how to do that.
billiev
Dec 9 2002, 04:08 PM
QUOTE (6stringer @ Dec 9 2002, 04:05 PM)
But at least it would protect your code from those who don't know how to do that.
yep.....anybody can copy and paste, but not everyone can do all that other stuff
b21jpv
Dec 9 2002, 04:25 PM
There a way to do it so when they right click to copy your site,the program WON'T let them RIGHT CLICK and they won't be able to copy your site. But I don't remember where I saw this software
but hopefully someone here in the forum dose.
Mango88
Dec 9 2002, 04:27 PM
Go get them Juliet!! Don't let them get away w/ it. That's just not right.
matois
Dec 9 2002, 04:36 PM
this software protects your source code by encryption
http://www.minihttpserver.net/htmlg/
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 04:40 PM
I just still can't believe someone would do this to me (but the more I read about it the more I realise it happens all the time!!)
grrrr. I may be a free stuff site but I don't expect them to rip my site for free!
Thanatos
Dec 9 2002, 04:48 PM
freeandeasy
Dec 9 2002, 04:51 PM
QUOTE (b21jpv @ Dec 9 2002, 04:25 PM)
There a way to do it so when they right click to copy your site,the program WON'T let them RIGHT CLICK and they won't be able to copy your site. But I don't remember where I saw this software
but hopefully someone here in the forum dose.
Yes you can disable right click, but you can still view source from your tool bar, and I believe there are other ways to get it also.
billiev
Dec 9 2002, 05:01 PM
QUOTE (Thanatos @ Dec 9 2002, 04:48 PM)
Of course, if you really do have more money than sense, please forward your unwanted cash to "The let's all visit Fred and Debbie to show how much we care Fund" (small untraceable bills only please).
hehe.............
billiev
Dec 9 2002, 05:04 PM
I guess there is really no sure-fire way to protect your work from being copied
Kristin
Dec 9 2002, 05:10 PM
That really SUCKS Juliet! You don't think they'll really be selling your site for a measling $2.00 do you? Sheesh.
Makes me think of the f2.nzfreebies.co.nz site - grabbed all our links but had popups to access the freebies!! Not only did he surf our sites for the freebies, he was on a free server! And he never had anything to offer that I hadn't seen, lol.
Congrats on getting his page removed!!
DGE1754
Dec 9 2002, 05:18 PM
As many of you know I had this happen not too long ago so I feel for you. The situation was fixed but its SO annoying when someone does that. You work hard you make a site its YOUR work....GAWD I feel for you Juliet I really dont and can empathize!
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 05:25 PM
QUOTE (Kristin @ Dec 9 2002, 11:10 PM)
That really SUCKS Juliet! You don't think they'll really be selling your site for a measling $2.00 do you? Sheesh.
Makes me think of the f2.nzfreebies.co.nz site - grabbed all our links but had popups to access the freebies!! Not only did he surf our sites for the freebies, he was on a free server! And he never had anything to offer that I hadn't seen, lol.
Congrats on getting his page removed!!
I guess I kinda did that to you and competition world.. came along and listed freebies/competitions and more... but I had my own stuff/updates/website design lol
it makes me wonder if its really worthwhile continuing after this latest episode.. (I have been thinking of shutting down for a wee while now)
KensLuv22
Dec 9 2002, 09:10 PM
Juliet,
If you need the script for the "No Right Click" just let me know and I will get it to you. I have it on my site....
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 10:46 PM
Hey
I've already got the no right click script (its on all pages apart from the front one so I guess I'll be adding that in as well)
Thankyou Anyway
Kristin
Dec 9 2002, 10:51 PM
Yes Juliet but I had a little hissy fit and that stopped it, lol. You had to ask for the pages to be removed!! And we get along now

Hey, we've even joined as each others referrals in programs, hehe.
Juliette
Dec 9 2002, 10:56 PM
QUOTE (Kristin @ Dec 10 2002, 04:51 AM)
Yes Juliet but I had a little hissy fit and that stopped it, lol. You had to ask for the pages to be removed!! And we get along now

Hey, we've even joined as each others referrals in programs, hehe.
I'm still trying to get referrals for mec *sigh* but I'm 100% active so you should be making a little bit off me at least lol
Not to take this thread off topic..
I'm actually wondering if he was trying to sucker me into thinking it was someone else who he originally got the site off to try and cover his own a**... or maybe I'm just thinking to much hehe
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.