Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Not strictly GPT... but concerns ALL PAYPAL USERS
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Industry Announcements
Rob
Please take the time to read this in full, because it could save you from being scammed... a lot of people have already fallen for it:

'I received the below e-mail today from 'PayPal' regarding a bonus. It is a sham. look at the domain registry information. DO NOT LOGON!

From: service@paypal.com<service@paypal.com>
To: x-files<x-files@qx.net>
Subject: Get $5 from PayPal!
X-Mailer: X-Mailer
Date: Mon, 17 Dec 2001 21:09:19 -0500


Season's Greetings Valued PayPal Customer;


As the New Year approaches and as we all get ready to move a year ahead, PayPal would like to give you a $5 credit to your account!


All you have to do to claim your $5 gift from us is update your information on our secure Pay Pal site by January 1st, 2002. A year brings a lot of changes, by updating your information with us you will allow for us to continue providing you and our valued customer service with excellent service and in the meantime, keep our records straight!


To update your information now and to receive $5 in your PayPal account instantly, click this link:

http://www.paypal-secure.com/cgi-bin/websc...=x-files@qx.net


Thank you for using PayPal.com and helping us grow to be the largest of our kind!


Sincerely wishing you a very "Merry Christmas and Happy New Year,"

PayPal Team

=================================================
Herer's why I think they are a sham. Look at their address for their supposed paypal-secure.com:

Registrant:
PayPal Secure
1 First Ave
Paypal, SE 123 456
CK

Domain Name: PAYPAL-SECURE.COM

Sponsoring Reseller; for Technical Support
with respect to this domain contact:
EasyHosting.com, postmaster@easyhosting.com
1-877-414-5665

Administrative Contact:
Secure, PayPal 123@cook.isl
1 First Ave
Paypal, SE 123 456
CK
456-789-1234

Technical Contact:
Secure, PayPal 123@cook.isl
1 First Ave
Paypal, SE 123 456
CK
456-789-1234

Billing Contact:
Secure, PayPal 123@cook.isl
1 First Ave
Paypal, SE 123 456
CK
456-789-1234


Record last updated on 17-Dec-2001.
Record expires on 07-Dec-2002.
Record Created on 07-Dec-2001.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.FROGSPACE.NET 216.65.12.140
NS2.FROGSPACE.NET 216.65.12.150

The previous information has been obtained either directly from the
registrant or a registrar of the domain name other than Network Solutions.
Network Solutions, therefore, does not guarantee its accuracy or
completeness.

Do NOT LOGON and give these fraud artists your PayPal Information. They are trying to steal your credit card. the registry info for the real PayPal site is:

Registrant:
Confinity, Inc (PAYPAL2-DOM)
1840 Embarcadero Rd.
Palo Alto, CA 94303
US

Domain Name: PAYPAL.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Billing Contact:
PayPal, Inc. Hostmaster (PI2724-ORG) hostmaster@PAYPAL.COM
PayPal, Inc.
Palo Alto, CA 94303
Palo Alto, CA 94303
US
650.251.1100
Fax- 650.251.1101

Record last updated on 03-Nov-2001.
Record expires on 15-Jul-2010.
Record created on 15-Jul-1999.
Database last updated on 17-Dec-2001 09:12:00 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.NIX.PAYPAL.COM 65.206.228.70
NS2.NIX.PAYPAL.COM 65.206.228.71
NS1.SC5.PAYPAL.COM 216.136.155.4
NS2.SC5.PAYPAL.COM 216.136.155.5'

This paypal-secure scam is based on the Cook Islands... that's a bit obvious in itself.

ALSO NOTICED SOMETHING ELSE:

If you look at the bottom on the fake page www.paypal-secure.com/cgi-bin/webscr.pl?em=x-files@qx.net
It says "Every account insured against unauthorized transactions up to ,000"

And on the real site, it says "Every account insured against unauthorized transactions up to $100,000".
lgwong
I cannot access this page. There is a 403 error.
Rob
I'd treat that as a good thing :smile:

Rob
FamilyAffair
Last Wednesday I withdrew PayPal funds to my Singapore Bank account, I checked & found its in my account within 7 days, on the following Wednesday which is 3 days ago.
lgwong
Rob, where did you find this piece of news? You are one of the first one who report it on the web.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.