hollymin
Nov 17 2002, 03:07 AM
I got an email that showed a copy of the e-gold login page. It stated the admin. of payment systems said I didn't correctly enter personal data. For me to log in from this email and correct the personal data.
Is this a scam? When I viewed email source it does say egold.com but there is other stuff also. I don't know what it all means. it did have https. in the body also.
saysay
Nov 17 2002, 03:30 AM
e-gold thief ..................? :ph34r:
i m gr8
Nov 17 2002, 03:33 AM
thats a scam e-mail
first of all
e-gold.com never contact u directly through e-mail like this.
secondly they always say you never enter your e-gold login information in an email or from a link in an email always goto www.e-gold.com and enter there.
bullet
Nov 17 2002, 08:53 AM
Definitely a scan -- I've read about it in several different places and seen copies of the e-mail.
Not just e-gold but PayPal and (I assume) any other similar payment/ecurrency service will never send you an e-mail asking you to click on a link to log into their site.
If they did have information that they needed you to update, they would tell you to change your user information -- but NOT put a link in their e-mail. Anytime you receive an e-mail with such a link, you're entitled to assume it is a scan.
If you're concerned about it -- close the e-mail, surf to the site in question, and if it is genuine, there will be appropriate information on the site telling about the change.
Even if there is a need to change your information, DON'T do it from an e-mail. It's too easy to spoof the link.
Bullet
gdross
Nov 21 2002, 01:03 AM
Got the same email tonight. leave things blank and try to log in it takes you to
http://mp3topperca.com.cnchost.com/cgi/test.php then redirects to e-gold
My first clue was when it came to an email address that e-gold I KNOW doesn't have on record. Forwarded things to e-gold.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Click for help with a selection. ? 2000 e-gold Ltd.
cheese
Nov 21 2002, 01:21 AM
yup.. NEVER click on ANY of those emails that are from e-gold OR paypal...
billiev
Nov 21 2002, 02:10 AM
yep....always go directly to the site itself, never from an email. If there is anything wrong or more info is needed, you will find out when you log in to your account.
Pluto53
Nov 21 2002, 10:15 AM
@hollymin
Now that you have used that mail and insert your informations (on THEIR website, not the official e-Gold site!) you better login to e-Gold from the real e-Gold website and change your passwort FAST!
Those scam-sites are able to read and save your login informations, when you filled in that form, so they can come back later to your account and login and steal your money!
Greetz, Pluto53 / Heike
manojnepali
Nov 29 2002, 12:18 PM
I have also recieved such kind of e-gold message.I can't understand that this is scam or not.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.