Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Yeah...I'll be doing this...sure.
Get Paid Forum - Get Paid Discussion > Get Paid To Programs > Complaints
kglaser
Look at this e.mail I received just now:
-------------------------------------------------------Subj: E-gold Departament
Date: 9/29/2002 8:28:09 PM Eastern Daylight Time
From: support@e-gold.com
Sent from the Internet (Details)

E-gold details update ...

The administration of payment system E-Gold informs: That you have not correctly entered the personal information on / the companies Please, go on the account in E-Gold and correct the personal data .

Account Number: Store my account number on my computer. (more info...)

Passphrase:
Turing Number:
Enter sequence of numbers displayed in grid directly above. (Audible Turing Number)

Start at the e-gold Home Page

http:\\www.e-gold.com\member.log Yours faithfully, Department E-Gold ----
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I dunno, for me it was the stellar English that kinda gave it away. What do you guys think? ad.gif
nze
you go girl!!!Cant believe someone is actually wasting time sending this out.
eln143
What is the purpose of it?
nze
eln,they steal your info and then steal your money.
kglaser
It doesn't come across here, but there were actually boxes in the e.mail into which you could enter your personal data, including account number, passphrase, and turing number. It looks exactly like the e-gold website. I think this person means to make people believe that by entering their data in those boxes, they are saving themselves a trip to the website, while they are actually giving all their account info to the thief.
eln143
How do they make exact replicas of sites like that?
kglaser
I don't know, but it's ###### scary, isn't it?? I mean, it looked PRECISELY like the e-gold site.
iggy
they do it with paypal too
eln143
I never answer emails from paypal or egold
eln143
AOL too
freeandeasy
QUOTE (eln143 @ Sep 30 2002, 02:26 AM)
How do they make exact replicas of sites like that?

That would be TOO easy!
Just steal their graphics, then copy/paste their source code.
You could have a duplicate site up very fast!
ai.gif
kiwinz
yup very easy
Emaillionairesemail
You could do it in 10 minutes flat actually.
tipsy
yeah I got two.. the first one I forwarded it to egold and when they didn't respond to tell me anything about it (cause I figured it was a hoax to get my account number) which would be ha ha on them cause I have no egold. aa.gif so I called them and they told me that E-gold will never email and ask you for personal information or anything else unless you have emailed them first with a request and they are following up on that request and for me to tell everyone I know that this email being sent out is a hoax to gain access to your account.. Some newbies wouldn't know any better than to do it.. Cause when you look at it, it seems legitite..
kglaser
I got a reply today from e-gold, after I sent them the mail with full headers yesterday. They answered that they are looking into it now.
Wayne
I don't know how these people can sleep at night, knowing they stole some poor persons money.
tipsy
here's the email response I got from e-gold..

QUOTE
Dear Customer,

The email you received was not sent by e-gold Ltd. It was a fraudulent attempt to compromise your e-gold account. We are in the process of getting the ISP provider to shut down the illegal site. If you entered your account information using the email below, please change your passphrase immediately!

Also, please bookmark the correct e-gold site https://www.e-gold.com and only access it via your bookmark or type it into your browser window. Also, never access your e-gold account via a link in an email message even if the message appears to come from e-gold. Thanks

Due Diligence Unit
Niels
Hate such people, why don't they let us have our money for our selves, they know that most users of such systems is aware of scams anyway.
What about scamboycott.com?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.