emil
Dec 18 2003, 09:59 AM
Seems like it was a mistake to trust "respected" webmasters and -mistresses, eh. Probably one of the last programs I signed up at must must be a rotten apple, since I received my first spam mail today.
From iam2002420@yahoo.com Thu Dec 18 12:24:12 2003
Return-Path: <iam2002420@yahoo.com>
X-Original-To: ...........
Received: from YAOYAO18 (unknown [218.79.251.44]) by ......... (Postfix) with ESMTP id 8AC0761D63
Content-Type: text/html; charset=us-ascii; charset="US-ASCII"
Let's see where this comes from:
$ jwhois 218.79.251.44
[Querying whois.apnic.net]
inetnum: 218.78.0.0 - 218.83.255.255
netname: CHINANET-SH
descr: CHINANET Shanghai province network
Alright, so it's an American lamer (Windows, Outlook, Frontpage - go figure) sending spam over an open relay in China?
Is this normal in GPTR or what? H?ll, all sites have clear privacy statements (FSCK this wordfilter here, who set that up??).
Maybe it's considered normal and I'm n00b for getting worked up over this but I think people shouldn't tolerate spam.
For example, people with lots of points/coins on sites where they can only be used for ads could advertise that the owner of "Grandma Gold" (grandma.ar.cx) is a fraudster and spammer..
davidbugs
Dec 18 2003, 10:03 AM
I receive that spam too. I already report to yahoo as a spam.
Stupid spammer.
nafan
Dec 18 2003, 11:05 AM
i also got it!!
majorkan
Dec 18 2003, 11:34 AM
I got it to last night, from the same spammer.
He used my emailadres from this forum.
emil
Dec 18 2003, 12:21 PM
From the 'advertised' site, you can get the e-mail address used at yahoo. I sent back a rather unfriendly message and it got accepted, so this is a valid address:
Dec 18 17:07:22 pc postfix/smtp[22701]: 0A35A61D63: to=<grandmagold2003@yahoo.com>, relay=mx1.mail.yahoo.com[64.156.215.7], delay=1, status=sent (250 ok dirdel)
Complaining about grandmagold2003@yahoo.com should yield results, and that's what I'm gonna do now.
scmedia
Dec 18 2003, 01:23 PM
Im surprised people even have the gaul to spam now since federal law says you can spend up to 5 years in prision and suffer tons of fines for doing it. I wonder if these spammers pay attention to laws in virginia and california, if a spam even passes thru there networks they become a federal crime and subject to there penalties. Spammers should be scared to even click the send button but of course there not cause there too stupid to relaize the penalties now.
pan23
Dec 18 2003, 02:23 PM
Unfortunately, Bush signed legislation of "anti-spam" that is so vague and with so many loopholes that the new Virginia and California laws will be killed. Time to vote otherwise?
elixir2
Dec 19 2003, 08:06 AM
i also got it but the email i sent to grandma gold bounced, are they harvesting emails from here? or is it a program we all belong to? if its a program id be happy to narrow it down for all of us.
davidbugs
Dec 19 2003, 10:20 AM
I receive this email for second in a row. I report it again for spammer. If I receive this email again. Im going forward it ftc@gov for a complain.
ILostMyTrueLove
Dec 19 2003, 05:57 PM
well I received it at my webmaster@fun-bucks acct.
michaellaskey
Dec 19 2003, 06:17 PM
| QUOTE (elixir2 @ Dec 19 2003, 10:06 PM) |
| i also got it but the email i sent to grandma gold bounced, are they harvesting emails from here? or is it a program we all belong to? if its a program id be happy to narrow it down for all of us. |
I got this too, it came to webmaster@logans-legacy.com Thats not the addy I used here, So I dont think they are harvesting addy's from here
FairyDust
Dec 20 2003, 03:15 AM
I got it also at my webmaster address for my site. Been getting more spam lately at my webmaster address. Infact more spam there than at my personal address. It really irritates me.
CASH_FLOW3
Dec 20 2003, 03:19 AM
I must be the only one who hasn't gotten it. But the nilecash spam probably makes up for my lack of getting this one.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.